

25TH NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL OFFICE OF THE SPEAKER

Media Contact: nnlb.communications@gmail.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 2, 2023

Standing Committees established under the 25th Navajo Nation Council



PHOTO: The 25th Navajo Nation Council taking the oath of office on Inauguration Day in Fort Defiance, Ariz. On Jan. 10, 2023.

WINDOW ROCK, Ariz. – On Thursday, the 25th Navajo Nation Council convened for a special session and approved Legislation No. 0005-23, sponsored by Speaker Crystalyne Curley, establishing the assignments to each of the four Standing Committees. The assignments are established as follows:

Health, Education, and Human Services Committee:

- 1. George Tolth from Eastern Agency
- 2. Dr. Andy Nez from Fort Defiance Agency
- 3. Vince R. James from Fort Defiance Agency

- 4. Germaine Simonson from Central Agency
- 5. Helena Nez Begay from Western Agency
- 6. Curtis Yanito from Northern Agency

Resources and Development Committee:

- 1. Danny Simpson from Eastern Agency
- 2. Brenda Jesus from Fort Defiance Agency
- 3. Shawna Ann Claw from Central Agency
- 4. Otto Tso from Western Agency
- 5. Casey Allen Johnson from Western Agency
- 6. Rickie Nez from Northern Agency

Law and Order Committee:

- 1. Steven R. Arviso from Eastern Agency
- 2. Cherilyn Yazzie from Fort Defiance Agency
- 3. Nathan Notah from Fort Defiance Agency
- 4. Herman M. Daniels from Western Agency
- 5. Eugenia Charles-Newton from Northern Agency

Budget and Finance Committee:

- 1. Norman M. Begay from Eastern Agency
- 2. Lomardo Aseret from Fort Defiance Agency
- 3. Carl Roessel Slater from Central Agency
- 4. Shaandiin Parrish from Western Agency
- 5. Seth Damon from Eastern Agency
- 6. Amber Kanazbah Crotty from Northern Agency

In accordance with 2 N.N.C. § 181 of the Navajo Nation Code, the Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council selects the Standing Committee membership subject to confirmation by the Navajo Nation Council. In determining the committee assignments, Speaker Curley explained that she reviewed resumes and considered recommendations from her Council colleagues and one chapter resolution that was received.

"Thank you to my colleagues of the 25th Navajo Nation Council for taking the next step to establish the Standing Committees, which provide oversight authority and input on many critical issues across our Nation. I look forward to working together with each of the Standing Committees as they begin to move forward," said Speaker Curley.

Each Standing Committee will select a Chair and Vice Chair during their first scheduled meeting. More information about the meeting schedules will be posted on the Navajo Nation Council's website: https://www.navajonationcouncil.org.

###

For the latest news from the Navajo Nation Council, please visit https://www.navajonationcouncil.org or search for "Navajo Nation Council" on social media.